That pit of despair

That pit of despair

Calling from the depths of me

Crying for desperate repair

That pit of despair

 

The blackness that surrounds me

Consumes the fire of life

Drowns the joy from my soul

And enfolds the song in my mind

 

The sunrise escapes my notice

A moon disappears behind the thunder

The red of a rose, looses its colour

The eyes of a child, oblivious to its love

 

That pit of despair

Calling from the depths of me

Crying for desperate repair

That pit of despair

 

The small wonders of everyday life

Becomes the dread of waking

The mystery of what is night

Becomes the calling card to thinking

 

Life in itself the endless battle

To stay alive, to stay sedated

The calling from my heart

In agony, in pain abated

 

That pit of despair

Calling from the depths of me

Crying for desperate repair

That pit of despair

~ deur merriemuis op Augustus 4, 2009.

One Response to “That pit of despair”

  1. This spoke to me

Lewer kommentaar

 
