Pieces of me

Jammer vir die brits vandag….

 

I look around me

And everywhere I see

Pieces of my life

Pieces of me

 

My heart, my soul

Filled with dreaded turmoil

The constant dread

The never ending battle

The lacking strength to toil

With life and it’s thread

 

I wish I could say with confidence

That this is a battle I will win

But right now, here today

Today life will have its way

For today the blackness can stay

 

The demons in my head,

The demanding voices, won’t go to bed

Today I lift my flag of white

To surrender to life’s plight

To go down without the slightest fight

To face the lonely, screaming night

 

With the welcoming sunrise

With strength, with power I will rise

Take my weapons with care and force

Destroy the blackness

That keeps haunting my soul

 

I look around me

And everywhere I see

Pieces of my life

Pieces of me

~ deur merriemuis op Januarie 30, 2009.

11 Responses to “Pieces of me”

  1. Merriemuis ek kuier te lekker hier! Ek is mal oor gedigte en word op twee blogs vreeslik bederf met lekker diep skrywes en mooi gedigte en natuurlik so af en toe ‘n lag as sekere mense die tweazers gryp!!! 😉

  2. hahahaha… ja nee jong … tweasers kan nogal pret veroorsaak

  3. no need to fight the river of life. one can throw hand around the water but cannot win, but when letting go and being carried by the river, one will reach the ocean.

  4. I know what you mean. Vreemde simbiose wat ons twee vandag ervaar. Om te surrender is dalk nie die dapper ding om te doen nie, maar nie almal van ons wil elke dag helde wees nie. Soms .. is dit net makliker. Sterkte M, hoop jou yin yang son gaan more met sy lig kant na jou toe wys. Keep it real.

  5. Hi utopianfragments … i hear you!! It is true … just let go, stop struggling and have faith and let go

    Elf … jong jy is verseker reg ..vandag is nie my dag vir held wees nie … sal more weer probeer … bly om te hoor ek is nie die enigste een wat soms so voel nie!!

  6. Dis ‘n baie mooi gedig Melaans, ek dink jy moet meer gereeld in Brits dig – jy het heel duidelik ‘n talent om so mooi uit te druk presies hoe jy voel.

  7. Dankie Cuzz!! Ek waardeer dit!!

  8. I like the poem. It vividly portrays the state of futility, fragmentation and feeling of a lack of control over our lives, e.g., pieces of me scattered everywhere and demons and voices in the head vying for control. Especially, it captures the tiredness, the exhaustion which makes it so difficult to continue, even knowing, as the second to last stanza says, that “I will rise,” and “Destroy the blackness.”
    .
    Philosophically, I have to agree with utopianfragments. In the Frank Herbert book “Dune,” the author quotes the fictitious “Litany against Fear,” which says:
    .
    I must not fear.
    Fear is the mind-killer.
    Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration.
    I will face my fear.
    I will permit it to pass over me and through me.
    And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path.
    Where the fear has gone there will be nothing.
    Only I will remain.
    .
    I read that when I was 16 years old and I believed it. It fit with what I was taught in my martial arts classes, and when I put it into practice I found that it is true, at least for me, and not just against fear, but also despair and other emotions that leave us paralyzed while the world strikes us down.
    .
    Taking up arms for battle against an enemy that lies within is futile. I think this poem illustrates that futility wonderfully, because the plan to fight leaves one fragmented.
    .
    If you let it pass through you, feel it and learn to know the enemy from within, you discover that it cannot touch you if you don’t let it; and once it has passed, you understand the dread and the fear and the demons.
    .
    utopianfragments river of life is a perfect example. hold your hand against the water and try to stop its flow and it will wear you down. Spread your fingers wide and let it flow through your hand and it refreshes you.
    .
    It’s not our hard-wired choice of fight-or-flight, but a choice between fighting and understanding. And, yes, sometimes once you understand, you do have to fight, but you do so from a position of strength rather than fear.
    .
    Wonderfully written poem. Thank you.

  9. Hi Jon… thank you for your comments!! I will take it to heart!!

  10. Sorry if I got a little windy. I think your poem touched a lot of chords in me.

  11. Hi Jon … no not at all!! I love reading your thoughts and how you experience what you are readingand how you express yourself… there is a few things that I need to think about .. like …
    “If you let it pass through you, feel it and learn to know the enemy from within, you discover that it cannot touch you if you don’t let it; and once it has passed, you understand the dread and the fear and the demons.”

    I think I am still in the midst of that “letting it pass through you” … every time you write something .. i have to sit back and let my mind kick into gear so that I can answer the questions running through my mind.

    again .. thank you for your comment!!

Lewer kommentaar

 
